Visit

Ongoing exhibitions

25 – Jubilee Exhibition

From 07.10.22
MUCA founders Stephanie and Christian Utz look back on 25 years of collecting. The Museum of Urban and Contemporary Art (MUCA) has always been...

City Lights - Tape Art Max Zorn

From 21.10.2022
City Lights - the new exhibition by Max Zorn Tape Art by Max Zorn Street art has long since emancipated itself as an independent art form, which...
In addition, we offer exciting Guided tours always matching the current exhibitions.
Missed the exhibition?

Coming Soon

You don't want to miss any more events? Subscribe to the MUCA newsletter for news about our artists, exhibitions and events.

MUCA Munich

We believe that art has the potential to change perceptions of the world. Our aim is to create spaces for a young and ephemeral art form, where street and urban art is in dialogue with other genres of contemporary art, cross-fertilising and leading to new insights.

As a meeting place for urban and contemporary art, the MUCA impresses with its high-calibre exhibition programme. On several "art experience levels", the MUCA not only presents the works of renowned, internationally acclaimed artists, we are also keen to offer a platform for experimental formats and interesting positions.

The MUCA does not only see itself as inserting urban art into the contemporary art discourse and musealising a young art form. Special attention is paid to art education. The exhibitions are accompanied by an extensive programme of artist and expert talks, readings and guided tours.

Museum programme in the middle of Munich

In the heart of Munich's beautiful old town, just a stone's throw away from Marienplatz, the first Museum of Urban Art in Germany is located in a former substation of the public utility company on a total area of approx. 2,000 sqm.

The façade of the MUCA was designed by the renowned street art artist Stohead and thus became an art object itself. The museum visitor enters the building through a calligraphically designed "shell". With this, the MUCA wants to create a connecting element between the interior and exterior spaces. This connection is important to us because it should convey to the visitor as soon as they arrive that street art as an art form needs public space as a space for discussion and that the interior space is a kind of protective and experimental zone.

Location

Museum of Urban and Contemporary Art (MUCA)

Hotterstraße 12
80331 Munich

Google Maps

By loading the map, you accept Google's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load map

Opening hours

Wednesday - Sunday: 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Thursdays: 10:00 to 20:00

Closing hours:

19.12.2022 until 03.01.2023

Please also follow our social media channels for updates and events

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Tickets

Tickets can be purchased on site or in our online shop.

Arrival

The MUCA is located in the heart of Munich, within walking distance of Marienplatz (6 min.), Stachus (8 min.) and Sendlinger Tor (6 min.).

The best way to reach the museum is by public transport.

S1/S2/S3/S4/S6/S7/S8: Marienplatz or Stachus stop

Lines 16, 17, 18, 19, 27, 28: Stop Sendlinger Tor

Please note that the MUCA is accessible via a ramp for people with walking disabilities/who use wheelchairs. However, the building is Not fully barrier-free. Please contact us before your planned visit to discuss individual requirements.

MUCA Restaurant "MURAL

The Mural is a gastronomic hotspot in the middle of Munich's old town. The restaurant offers special treats in a relaxed atmosphere. The fine-dining concept in the evening impresses with sophisticated menus with a regional-creative focus, awarded a Michelin star and 15 Gault & Millau points.

Chef Joshua Leise's team places particular emphasis on getting the most out of simple, carefully selected products. In collaboration with small, regional producers and in constant search of the best seasonal products, the kitchen team serves contemporary dishes at the highest level.

 

Opening hours

Due to pandemic requirements, current restaurant opening hours are limited to Tuesdays to Saturdays 18:00-22:00

Contact

Tel: +49 (0)89 230 231 86
Email: contact@mural.restaurant
Web: www.muralrestaurant.de

Social media: Facebook & Instagram

en_GB

Visit

Laufende Ausstellungen

25 – Jubiläumsausstellung

Ab 07.10.22
Die MUCA Gründer Stephanie und Christian Utz blicken auf 25 Jahre Sammeltätigkeit zurück. Das Museum of Urban and Contemporary Art (MUCA) hat sich stets zum…

City Lights – Tape Art Max Zorn

Ab 21.10.2022
City Lights – die neue Ausstellung von Max Zorn Tape Art von Max Zorn Street Art hat sich längst zur eigenständigen Kunstform emanzipiert, was…
Zusätzlich bieten wir spannende Führungen an, immer passend zu den aktuellen Ausstellungen.
Ausstellung verpasst?

Coming Soon

Sie wollen kein Event mehr verpassen? Abonnieren Sie den MUCA-Newsletter für Neuigkeiten zu unseren Künstlern, Ausstellungen und Events.

MUCA München

Wir glauben daran, dass Kunst das Potenzial hat, die Wahrnehmung auf die Welt zu verändern. Es ist unser Ziel, für eine junge und zugleich vergängliche Kunstform Räume zu schaffen, in denen Street- und Urban Art im Dialog mit anderen Genres der zeitgenössischen Kunst steht, sich gegenseitig befruchtet und zu neuen Erkenntnissen führt.

Das MUCA als Begegnungsstätte für Urban und Contemporary Art besticht durch eine hochkarätige Ausstellungsprogrammatik. Auf mehreren „Kunsterlebnisebenen“ sind im MUCA nicht nur die Werke renommierter, international gefeierter Künstler zu sehen, uns ist es ebenfalls ein Anliegen, experimentellen Formaten und interessanten Positionen eine Plattform zu bieten.

Das MUCA versteht sich nicht nur darin, Urban Art in den zeitgenössischen Kunstdiskurs einzufügen und eine junge Kunstform zu musealisieren. Ein besonderes Augenmerk liegt auf der Kunstvermittlung. Die Ausstellungen werden durch ein umfangreiches Programm mit Künstler- und Expertengesprächen, Lesungen und Führungen begleitet.

Museum Programm mitten in München

Mitten im Herzen der schönen Münchner Altstadt, nur einen Steinwurf vom Marienplatz entfernt, befindet sich in einem ehemaligen Umspannwerk der Stadtwerke auf ca. 2.000 qm Gesamtfläche das erste Museum of Urban Art in Deutschland.

Die Fassade des MUCA wurde von dem renommierten Street Art Künstler Stohead gestaltet und damit zum Kunstobjekt selbst. Der Museumsbesucher betritt das Gebäude durch eine kalligraphisch gestaltete „Hülle“. Das MUCA will damit ein verbindendes Element zwischen dem Innen- und Außenraum schaffen. Diese Verbindung ist uns wichtig, da es dem Besucher bereits bei Ankunft vermitteln soll, dass Streetart als Kunstform den öffentlichen Raum als Diskussionsraum benötigt und der Innenraum eine Art Schutz- und Experimentierzone darstellt.

Location

Museum of Urban and Contemporary Art (MUCA)

Hotterstraße 12
80331 München

Google Maps

Mit dem Laden der Karte akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Google.
Mehr erfahren

Karte laden

Öffnungszeiten

Mittwoch – Sonntag: 10:00 bis 18:00 Uhr

Donnerstags: 10:00 bis 20:00 Uhr

Schließzeiten:

19.12.2022 bis 03.01.2023

Bitte verfolgen Sie auch unsere Social Media Kanäle zu Updates und Events

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Tickets

Tickets können vor Ort oder in unserem Online-Shop erworben werden.

Anreise

Im Herzen Münchens, fußläufig zwischen Marienplatz (6 Min.), Stachus (8 Min.) und Sendlinger Tor (6 Min.), befindet sich das MUCA.

Am besten erreichen Sie das Museum mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln.

S1/S2/S3/S4/S6/S7/S8: Haltestelle Marienplatz oder Stachus

Linien 16, 17, 18, 19, 27, 28: Haltestelle Sendlinger Tor

Bitte beachten Sie, dass das MUCA über eine Rampe für Menschen mit Gehbehinderung/im Rollstuhl zugänglich ist. Jedoch ist das Gebäude nicht im vollen Umfang barrierefrei. Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns vor Ihrem geplanten Besuch, um individuelle Anforderungen zu besprechen.

MUCA Restaurant "MURAL"

Das hauseigene Restaurant Mural ist ein gastronomischer Hotspot inmitten der Münchner Altstadt. In entspannter Atmosphäre bietet das Restaurant besondere Gaumenfreuden. Das Fine-Dining-Konzept am Abend besticht durch anspruchsvolle Menüs mit regional-kreativem Schwerpunkt, ausgezeichnet mit einem Michelin-Stern und 15 Gault & Millau Punkten.

Das Team um Küchenchef Joshua Leise legt besonderen Wert darauf, aus einfachen, sorgfältig ausgewählten Produkten das Maximale herauszuholen. In Zusammenarbeit mit kleinen, regionalen Produzenten und auf der stetigen Suche nach den besten saisonalen Produkten serviert das Küchen-Team zeitgenössische Gerichte auf Spitzenniveau.

Öffnungszeiten

Dienstag bis Samstag ist das MURAL Restaurant ab 18:45 Uhr geöffnet. Damit unser Küchenteam Sie gemütlich durch den Abend führen kann, ist die späteste Reservierung um 19:30 Uhr möglich.

Führungen exklusiv für Restaurantgäste

Im MUCA trifft ausgezeichnete Kulinarik auf höchste Kunst. Besuchen Sie die aktuelle Ausstellung oder vereinbaren Sie für Ihre Gruppe (mind. 10 Personen) eine exklusive Führung durch das Museum ehe Sie den Abend beim Gänge-Menü im Restaurant fortsetzen.

Kontakt

Tel: +49 (0)89 230 231 86
Email: contact@mural.restaurant
Web: www.muralrestaurant.de

Social Media: Facebook & Instagram

de_DE_formal