Myth-Explored-Explained-Exploded-Damien Hirst Ausstellung MUCA
© Damien Hirst and Science Ltd. All rights reserved / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2023

Damien Hirst

- The Weight of Things

MUCA Halls

From 26 October 2023

For the first time in Germany, some of Damien Hirst's most iconic works will be on view in a major solo exhibition at the Museum of Urban and Contemporary Art (MUCA) from 26 October 2023. 

"For the Love of God" (2007), Damien Hirst's famous platinum cast of a human skull set with 8,601 diamonds, will also be on view in the artist's major survey exhibition at MUCA, in a special exhibition limited in time only until the end of January 2024.

The Diamond Skull embodies Hirst's fascination with diamonds and underlines their inherent uncertainty about their value. It confronts the competitive nature of the diamond industry and the capitalist society that sustains it.

The work will be shown as part of the exhibition entitled "The Weight of Things along with over 40 other works, including installations, sculptures and paintings, some of which have never been seen before. The exhibition includes some of Hirst's most iconic series, including Natural History (Formaldehyde Sculptures), Spin Paintings, Medicine Cabinets, Treasures from the Wreck of the Unbelievable, Cherry Blossoms and Spot- and Butterfly Paintings.

Throughout his career, Hirst reflected on the complex relationships between beauty, religion, science, life and death. Hirst first came to public attention in London in 1988 when, during his second year at Goldsmiths College, he conceived and curated the group exhibition Freeze, which sparked a new wave of British artists reinventing contemporary art. 

Since 1991, in many of his most famous works, Hirst used Formaldehyde to explore the relationship between art and science. "The Weight of Things brings together several examples of this impressive series. Other iconic series on view in the exhibition include. Spin Paintingswhich are known for their energetic bursts of colour and always contain a random element, as well as Spot Paintings, a series that began in 1986 and consists of colourful dots that look as if they were painted by a machine,

The Largest Hirst Spot Painting of the world can be seen on the museum wall outside. In front of the MUCA is also the Sculpture Legend (2011) exhibited. 

"I am so happy and excited to have been invited by Christian and Stephanie Utz to present this exhibition, The Weight of Things, in Munich, where I have the opportunity to show many of my earlier works through to my later series such as Treasures from the Wreck of the Unbelievable. And a huge new outdoor spot painting that will be visible from all over the city. I'm very excited to be working on this exhibition and bringing it all together in such a unique and dynamic space at MUCA." - Damien Hirst

 

The MUCA also offers regular guided tours of the Damien Hirst exhibition.

en_GB

Myth-Explored-Explained-Exploded-Damien Hirst Ausstellung MUCA
© Damien Hirst and Science Ltd. All rights reserved / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2023

Damien Hirst

– The Weight of Things

MUCA Halls

Ab 26. Oktober 2023

Erstmals in Deutschland sind einige der ikonischsten Werke von Damien Hirst ab 26. Oktober 2023 in einer großen Solo-Ausstellung im Museum of Urban and Contemporary Art (MUCA) zu sehen. 

„For the Love of God“ (2007), Damien Hirsts berühmter Platinabguss eines menschlichen Schädels, besetzt mit 8.601 Diamanten, wird ebenfalls in der großen Überblicksausstellung des Künstlers im MUCA zu sehen sein, in einer Sonderausstellung zeitlich limitiert nur bis Ende Januar 2024.

Der Diamantenschädel verkörpert Hirsts Faszination für Diamanten und unterstreicht die ihnen innewohnende Ungewissheit über ihren Wert. Es konfrontiert mit dem Wettbewerbscharakter der Diamantenindustrie und der kapitalistischen Gesellschaft, die ihn aufrechterhält.

Das Werk wird im Rahmen der Ausstellung mit dem Titel „The Weight of Things“ zusammen mit über 40 weiteren Werken gezeigt, darunter Installationen, Skulpturen und Gemälde, von denen einige noch nie zuvor zu sehen waren. Die Ausstellung umfasst einige von Hirsts ikonischsten Serien, darunter Natural History (Formaldehyd-Skulpturen), Spin Paintings, Medicine Cabinets, Treasures from the Wreck of the Unbelievable, Cherry Blossoms sowie Spot- und Butterfly-Paintings.

Während seiner gesamten Karriere reflektierte Hirst über die komplexen Beziehungen zwischen Schönheit, Religion, Wissenschaft, Leben und Tod. Hirst wurde erstmals 1988 in London der Öffentlichkeit bekannt, als er während seines zweiten Studienjahres am Goldsmiths College die Gruppenausstellung „Freeze“ konzipierte und kuratierte, die eine neue Welle britischer Künstler auslöste, welche die zeitgenössische Kunst neu erfanden. 

Seit 1991 hat Hirst in vielen seiner bekanntesten Werke Formaldehyd verwendet, um die Beziehung zwischen Kunst und Wissenschaft zu erkunden. „The Weight of Things“ vereint mehrere Beispiele dieser beeindruckenden Serie. Weitere ikonische Serien, die in der Ausstellung zu sehen sind, sind Spin Paintings, die für ihre energiegeladenen Farbausbrüche bekannt sind und immer ein zufälliges Element enthalten sowie Spot Paintings, eine Serie, die 1986 begann und aus bunten Punkten besteht, die aussehen, als seien sie von einer Maschine gemalt worden,

Das größte Hirst Spot Painting der Welt ist an der Museumswand im Außenbereich zu sehen. Vor dem MUCA ist zudem die Skulptur Legend (2011) ausgestellt. 

„Ich bin so glücklich und aufgeregt von Christian und Stephanie Utz eingeladen worden zu sein, diese Ausstellung, The Weight of Things, in München zu präsentieren, wo ich die Gelegenheit habe, viele meiner früheren Arbeiten bis hin zu meinen späteren Serien wie Treasures from the Wreck of the Unbelievable zu zeigen. Und ein riesiges neues Spot-Painting im Freien, das von der ganzen Stadt aus zu sehen sein wird. Ich freue mich sehr an dieser Ausstellung zu arbeiten und alles in einem so einzigartigen und dynamischen Raum im MUCA zusammenzubringen.“ – Damien Hirst

 

Das MUCA bietet auch regelmäßig Führungen zur Damien Hirst Ausstellung an.

de_DE_formal