Burton Morris_POP_MUCA "25" Jubiläumsausstellung

Burton Morris in the MUCA exhibition

Who is Burton Morris?

The American artist Burton Morris was born in Pittsburgh in 1964. As a young boy he had an accident and wore a plaster cast over his entire body for several months, only his arms could move. So his parents gave him pencils and he developed his passion for painting and drawing during this time. During this time, he also watched numerous cartoons and read comic books featuring superheroes such as Captain America and Spiderman. These comic book heroes later influenced his art again and again. Morris earned his Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in 1986 and subsequently worked for several advertising agencies in Pittsburgh as an art director.

Morris' works, which often focus on everyday objects that illuminate contemporary society, have been exhibited at the Albright Knox Museum, the Obama Presidential Centre and the Hickory Museum of Art. In popular culture, many are familiar with his works, which hung in the flat of the hit sitcom Friends in the 1990s.

How does Morris work?

Over the past 30 years, Morris has created iconic paintings that are intended to encourage us to question the way we look at everyday things in our modern culture. His artworks are informed by a fascination with symbols and icons that was shaped by the comic book heroes of his childhood in the 1960s. A time in which Pop Art also first emerged.

In 1990 he founded his "Burton Morris Studios" and began to enlarge his post-pop icons on canvas and to work out his brushwork to the style he has today. 

In the Nightstand Portraits series, Morris created a series of artworks based on people's nightstands. For this, he turned, similar to Pop Art artists Andy Warhol before, to famous personalities from industry, the media and the fashion industry, such as Coco Chanel.

Burton Morris at the "25" exhibition in Munich

Pop" can be admired in our current MUCA exhibition in Munich.

This work was acquired in 1998 as one of the first works for the MUCA collection. It shows the distinctive graphic style that has become synonymous with his art-making.

Come and see Morris live with us:

Morris' art for events, brands and personalities

Burton Morris has created artworks for numerous major events around the world over the decades, including the 2004 Summer Olympics in Greece, the 2004 Academy Awards, the 38th Montreux Jazz Festival and the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa.

Many companies and institutions commissioned him, for example the United Nations, Coca Cola Corporation, Samsung, Warner Brothers, Microsoft and Kellogg`s. In 1993, the liquor brand Absolut Vodka selected a work of art by Morris for the Absolut Statehood campaign and included him in the Absolut collection, which also includes works by Andy Warhol and Keith Haring includes. From 1994, his paintings were featured in the globally successful NBC sitcom "Friends", which helped establish Burton's style in pop culture. Collectors of his artwork include celebrities such as Brad Pitt, Tommy Hilfiger, Oprah Winfrey and Barack Obama.  

en_GB

Burton Morris_POP_MUCA "25" Jubiläumsausstellung

Burton Morris in der MUCA Ausstellung

Wer ist Burton Morris?

Der amerikanische Künstler Burton Morris wurde 1964 in Pittsburgh geboren. Als kleiner Junge hatte er einen Unfall und trug mehrere Monate einen Gips am gesamten Körper, nur seine Arme konnte er bewegen. So gaben ihm seine Eltern Stifte und er entwickelte in dieser Zeit seine Leidenschaft für das Malen und Zeichnen. In dieser Zeit sah er außerdem zahlreiche Zeichentrickfilm und las Comics mit Superhelden wie Captain America und Spiderman. Diese Comichelden beeinflussten später immer wieder seine Kunst. Morris erlangte 1986 seinen Bachelor of Fine Arts und arbeitete anschließend für mehrere Werbeagenturen in Pittsburgh als Art Director.

Morris‘  Werke,  die  sich  oft  auf  Alltagsgegenstände  konzentrieren,  die  die  zeitgenössische Gesellschaft beleuchten, wurden bereits im Albright Knox Museum, im Obama Presidential  Centre  und  im  Hickory  Museum  of  Art  ausgestellt.  In  der  Populärkultur  kennen viele seine Werke, die in den 1990er Jahren in der Wohnung der erfolgreichen Sitcom „Friends“ hingen.

Wie arbeitet Morris?

In den letzten 30 Jahren erschuf Morris ikonische Gemälde, die dazu anregen sollen, unsere Sichtweise auf alltägliche Dinge unserer modernen Kultur zu hinterfragen. Seine Kunstwerke sind geprägt durch die Faszination für Symbole und Ikonen, die durch die Comichelden seiner Kindheit in den 1960er Jahren geprägt wurde. Eine Zeit, in der auch erstmals die Pop Art aufkam.

1990 gründete er seine „Burton Morris Studios“ und begann seine Post-Pop-Ikonen auf Leinwand zu vergrößern und seine Pinselführung zum heutigen Stil auszuarbeiten. 

In der Serie „Nightstand Portraits“ schuf Morris eine Reihe von Kunstwerken basierend auf dem Nachtkästchen von Personen. Hierfür wendete er sich, ähnlich wie Pop-Art-Künstler Andy Warhol schon zuvor, an berühmte Persönlichkeiten aus Industrie, Medien und der Modebranche, wie etwa Coco Chanel.

Burton Morris in der „25“ Ausstellung in München

In unserer aktuellen MUCA-Ausstellung in München ist „Pop“ zu bewundern.

Dieses  Werk  wurde im Jahre 1998 als  eines  der  ersten  Werke für die Sammlung des MUCA erworben. Es zeigt den markanten grafischen Stil, der zum Synonym für sein Kunstschaffen geworden ist.

Schauen Sie sich Morris live bei uns an:

Morris' Kunst für Veranstaltungen, Marken und persönlichkeiten

Burton Morris schuf über die Jahrzehnte Kunstwerke für zahlreiche Großveranstaltungen weltweit, darunter die Olympischen Sommerspiele 2004 in Griechenland, die Oscarverleihung 2004, das 38. Montreux Jazz Festival und die FIFA Fußball-Weltmeisterschaft 2010 in Südafrika.

Viele Unternehmen und Institutionen beauftragten ihn, beispielsweise die Vereinten Nationen, Coca Cola Corporation, Samsung, Warner Brothers, Microsoft und Kellogg`s. 1993 wählte die Spirituosenmarke Absolut Vodka ein Kunstwerk von Morris für die Absolut Statehood-Kampagne aus und nahm ihn in die Absolut-Kollektion auf, die auch Werke von Andy Warhol und Keith Haring umfasst. Ab 1994 waren seine Bilder in der weltweit erfolgreichen NBC-Sitcom „Friends“ zu sehen, was dazu beitrug, Burtons Stil in der Popkultur zu etablieren. Als Sammler seiner Kunstwerke gelten berühmte Persönlichkeiten wie Brad Pitt, Tommy Hilfiger, Oprah Winfrey und Barack Obama.  

de_DE_formal