25 – Jubilee Exhibition

MUCA Halls

From 07.10.22

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

MUCA founders Stephanie and Christian Utz look back on 25 years of collecting.

The Museum of Urban and Contemporary Art (MUCA) has always aimed to be a preserver of artworks that come from the ephemeral, urban ecosystem. In the meantime, the MUCA Collection with over 1,200 exhibits, is one of the most important collections of urban art in Europe.

On the occasion of its 25th anniversary, the MUCA is presenting selected works and objects that are representative of the collector couple's many years of personal passion and that address the epochal and social development of street and urban art.

The MUCA collection has its starting point in 1998 with the first works attributable to Pop Art culture. These now serve museum visitors as a starting point through a journey through time. Visitors will gain an insight into how the core collection has grown since the 2000s to include increasingly outstanding works and has become linked to contemporary art more broadly.

Works have been thematically grouped together in various exhibition areas, enabling the viewer to connect motifs from the collection with historical genres of contemporary art. For example, there are points of reference between a JR to Christo, an Andy Warhol to Harland Miller, Frank Auerbach with Antony Micallef, or Banksy with Keith Haring. 

The exhibition highlights themes and trends from pop art, art in public space, socio-political/propaganda art to contemporary figurative painting.

In addition, there will be special highlights within the MUCA supporting programme over the course of 25 weeks, in several time periods.

Opening hours:

Wed-Sun 10 am - 6 pm; Thursdays 10 am - 8 pm

Ticket prices: 9 EUR reg. / 6 EUR reduced

> Buy ticket

en_GB

25 – Jubiläumsausstellung

MUCA Halls

Ab 07.10.22

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Die MUCA Gründer Stephanie und Christian Utz blicken auf 25 Jahre Sammeltätigkeit zurück.

Das Museum of Urban and Contemporary Art (MUCA) hat sich stets zum Ziel gesetzt, Bewahrer von Kunstwerken zu sein, die aus dem flüchtigen, städtischen Ökosystem stammen. Inzwischen zählt die MUCA Sammlung mit über 1.200 Exponaten zu einer der bedeutendsten Sammlungen Europas im Bereich Urban Art.

Anlässlich des 25-jährigen Jubiläums präsentiert das MUCA ausgewählte Werke und Objekte, welche repräsentativ für die langjährige, persönliche Leidenschaft des Sammlerpaars steht sowie die epochale und gesellschaftliche Entwicklung der Street- und Urban Art thematisiert.

Die MUCA Sammlung hat ihren Startpunkt im Jahre 1998 mit ersten Werken, die der Pop-Art-Kultur zuzuschreiben sind. Diese dienen Museumsbesuchern nun als Startpunkt durch eine Zeitreise. Die Besucher*innen erhalten einen Einblick, wie die Kernsammlung seit den 2000er Jahren um immer herausragendere Werke angewachsen ist und sich mit der zeitgenössischen Kunst im weiteren Sinne verknüpft hat.

In verschiedenen Ausstellungsbereichen wurden Werke thematisch zusammengefasst und ermöglichen es dem Betrachter, Motive der Sammlung mit historischen Genres der zeitgenössischen Kunst zu verbinden. So finden sich zum Beispiel Bezugspunkte zwischen einem JR zu Christo, einem Andy Warhol zu Harland Miller, Frank Auerbach mit Antony Micallef, oder Banksy mit Keith Haring. 

Die Ausstellung beleuchtet Themen und Strömungen der Pop Art, Kunst im öffentlichen Raum, sozio-politische/Propaganda-Kunst bis hin zu zeitgenössischer, figurativer Malerei.

Zudem wird es im Rahmen des Jubiläums über 25 Wochen, in mehreren, zeitlichen Abschnitten, besondere Highlights innerhalb des MUCA Rahmenprogramms geben.

Öffnungszeiten:

Mi-So 10 – 18 Uhr; Donnerstags 10 – 20 Uhr

Ticketpreise: 9 EUR reg. / 6 EUR erm.

> Ticket kaufen

de_DE_formal