MUCA Wall: Largest "Spot Painting" by Hirst

As part of the current Hirst solo show at the MUCA Museum in Munich, together with the Damien Hirst team, we also presented our MUCA Giant Wall designed.

With 1,000 sqm and 540 different colour circles you can admire Damien Hirst's largest ever "spot painting" here.

Hirst created his first Spot Painting back in 1986 while studying at Goldsmiths College in London. The series now comprises over 1,500 works. He defined the key elements for the ongoing series as follows: hand-painted circles arranged in a grid-like composition on a light-coloured background. 

During the development of the series, Hirst introduced several important production parameters. It was ensured that the circles are painted on the canvas with household gloss paint, that the width of the circle and the space between the circles are the same size and that not a single colour is repeated on a canvas. 

The spot painting on the outside of the MUCA has become an absolute eye-catcher in the centre of Munich and can even be seen wonderfully from the Munich Frauentürmen. If you don't want to go that far up, just drop by and marvel at the large mural on the museum's outdoor area.

en_GB

MUCA Wall: Größtes „Spot Painting“ von Hirst

Im Rahmen der aktuellen Hirst Solo-Show im MUCA Museum in München haben wir gemeinsam mit dem Team von Damien Hirst auch unsere MUCA Giant Wall gestaltet.

Mit 1.000 qm und 540 unterschiedlichen Farbkreisen könnt ihr hier das größte „Spot Painting“ von Damien Hirst überhaupt bewundern.

Das erste Spot Painting schuf Hirst bereits 1986 während seines Studiums am Goldsmiths College in London. Inzwischen umfasst die Serie über 1.500 Werke. Die Schlüsselelemente für die fortlaufende Serie legte er so fest: handgemalte Kreise, die in einer gitterartigen Komposition auf einem hellen Hintergrund angeordnet sind. 

Im Laufe der Entwicklung der Serie führte Hirst mehrere wichtige Produktionsparameter ein. Es wurde sichergestellt, dass die Kreise mit Haushaltsglanzfarbe auf die Leinwand gemalt werden, dass die Breite des Kreises und der Raum zwischen den Kreisen gleich groß sind und dass sich keine einzige Farbe auf einer Leinwand wiederholt. 

Das Spot Painting auf den Außenflächen des MUCA ist ein absoluter Eye-Catcher im Zentrum Münchens geworden und sogar wunderbar von den Münchner Frauentürmen zu sehen. Wer nicht so weit hinauf möchte, kommt einfach bei uns vorbei und bestaunt das große Wandgemälde auf dem Außengelände des Museums.

de_DE_formal