City Lights - Tape Art Max Zorn

MUCA Bunker

From 21.10.2022

City Lights - the new exhibition by Max Zorn

Tape Art by Max Zorn

Street art has long since emancipated itself as an art form in its own right, which can now be clearly seen in the artists who use different media and forms of expression and thus continue to develop this art form more and more. The Dutch artist Max Anger creates a very unique visual language with a supposedly everyday object: parcel tape.

The brown tape, familiar to everyone, allows Max Zorn to illuminate independent visual worlds.
The artist developed these "Tape Art" in Amsterdam, where he attached his atmospheric portraits to street lamps, in whose light the pictures unfolded their magical effect at night.

In tandem with the developing technique, increasingly complex, large-scale works emerged, which can now be admired in renowned galleries and at the world's major art fairs.

City Lights - the exhibition in the MUCA Bunker

Zorn's works have been sold out for years and so it was a challenge to assemble an extensive collection. "City Lights" is the first exhibition of its kind to bring together loans and commissioned works by the artist from different creative phases.  

It senses the artist's search for emotionally significant moments. Often intensified by the juxtaposition of the individual person and an overwhelming environment. It is above all the cities that serve as Zorn's stage here.

 "Not only did my art find its beginnings at the street lights of Amsterdam. I also often unfold my stories against the backdrop of night skylines. From shimmering skyscrapers to the smouldering cigarettes in dark Speak Easy bars, behind every light is a life full of longing and challenges. And all of this touches, sometimes fleetingly, sometimes on a collision course. This simultaneity of intimacy and anonymity creates the perfect ambience for the inner struggles of my protagonists," says Zorn.

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

The exhibition "City Lights" can only be visited in combination with a guided tour of the bunker.

Guided tour dates: 10.11. / 24.11. / 01.12. / 08.12.2022 

> Book tickets for the guided tour 

en_GB

City Lights – Tape Art Max Zorn

MUCA Bunker

Ab 21.10.2022

City Lights – die neue Ausstellung von Max Zorn

Tape Art von Max Zorn

Street Art hat sich längst zur eigenständigen Kunstform emanzipiert, was man inzwischen auch deutlich an Künstlern und Künstlerinnen erkennt, die sich verschiedener Medien und Ausdrucksformen bedienen und so diese Kunstform immer stärker weiterentwickeln. Der niederländische Künstler Max Zorn erschafft eine ganz eigene Bildsprache mit einem vermeintlichen Alltagsgegenstand: dem Paketband.

Das braune, jedem wohlbekannte, Klebeband lässt Max Zorn zu eigenständigen Bildwelten erleuchten.
Entwickelt hat der Künstler diese “Tape Art“ in Amsterdam, wo er seine atmosphärischen Portraits an Straßenlaternen befestigte, in deren Licht die Bilder nachts ihre magische Wirkung entfalteten.

Im Tandem mit der sich entwickelnden Technik entstanden zunehmend komplexere, großformatige Werke, die heute in renommierten Galerien und auf den großen Kunstmessen der Welt zu bewundern sind.

City Lights – die Ausstellung im MUCA Bunker

Zorns Werke sind seit Jahren ausverkauft und so war es eine Herausforderung  eine umfangreiche Sammlung zusammenzutragen. „City Lights“ ist die erste Ausstellung dieser Art, die Leihgaben und Auftragswerke des Künstlers aus verschiedenen Schaffensphasen zusammenbringt.  

Sie erspürt die Suche des Künstlers nach emotional bedeutsamen Momenten.  Oft verstärkt durch die Gegenüberstellung der einzelnen Person und einer überwältigenden Umgebung. Es sind vor allem die Städte, die Zorn hier als Bühne dienen.

 „Nicht nur hat meine Kunst ihre Anfänge an den Straßen-Lichtern von Amsterdam gefunden. Ich entfalte meine Geschichten auch oft vor der Kulisse nächtlicher Skylines. Von  schimmernden Wolkenkratzern bis zu den glimmenden Zigaretten in dunklen Speak-Easy-Bars, hinter jedem Licht steckt ein Leben voller Sehnsucht und Herausforderungen. Und all dies berührt sich, manchmal flüchtig, manchmal im Kollisionskurs. Diese Gleichzeitigkeit von Intimität und Anonymität  bildet das perfekte Ambiente für die inneren Auseinandersetzungen meiner Protagonisten.“, so Zorn.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Die Ausstellung „City Lights“ kann ausschließlich in Kombination mit einer Bunker-Führung besucht werden.

Führungstermine: 10.11. / 24.11. / 01.12. / 08.12.2022 

> Tickets für die Führung buchen 

de_DE_formal