Vhils at the MUCA exhibition

Who is Vhils?

Alexandre Farto alias Vhils was born in Lisbon in 1987 and is considered a contemporary urban archaeologist. Having grown up in an industrial suburb of Lisbon, he is strongly influenced by the urbanisation there in the 1980s and 90s. He is fascinated by how these changes affect the structure of the urban landscape. This inspires him to draw parallels to principles of New Realism and the psychogeography of Situationism.

At the age of thirteen, he already began to leave his "tags" and "stencils" in streets and on trains. Later, he studied at the Byam Shaw School of Art in London and developed his unique style there: he removes the upper layers of walls with unconventional tools and thus creates portraits of a special kind. 

How does Vhils work?

Vhils addresses the impact of global development and homogenisation on landscapes and identities. True to his motto: destroy to create something new, he creates powerful and poetic images designed to humanise public space.

He often uses tools such as drills or explosives to better remove the layers of wall and plaster. By removing the upper layers of the wall, he gives his portraits a haptic effect. Similar to a modern archaeologist, the artist wants to depict and expose every single layer and stage of the city's history, as well as its influence on the inhabitants. Another aim of his work is to reflect the destruction and decay of the urban environment caused naturally.

Farto's special working technique forms the basis for his "Scratching the Surface" project. This was presented for the first time at the VSP Group Exhibition in Lisbon 2007, then the following year at the Cans Festival in London.

From the favelas in Rio to the Centre Pompidou

Since 2005, Vhils has presented his work worldwide at exhibitions, events and in other contexts - from projects with communities in the favelas of Rio de Janeiro to collaborations with renowned institutions such as the Centre Pompidou or the Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego.

Vhils experiments with a variety of different media in addition to his unique ablation technique. In addition to video installations, he has also produced various music videos and short films.

Vhils at the "25" exhibition in Munich

The current exhibition by Vhils at MUCA features "Dwindle Series No 3" and "Acumen Series No 2". Vhils has used very different materials and worked with very different working methods. 

Experience the works on metal plate and from advertising posters with us:

 

Vhil's work "Dispersal Series #14" was on display in the MUCA exhibition "Icons of Urban Art" until summer 2022.
en_GB

Vhils in der MUCA Ausstellung

Wer ist Vhils?

Alexandre Farto alias Vhils  wurde 1987 in Lissabon geboren und gilt als zeitgenössischer Stadtarchäologe. Aufgewachsen in einem Industrievorort von Lissabon, wird er stark durch die dortige Urbanisierung in den 1980er und 90er-Jahren beeinflusst. Er ist fasziniert davon, wie sich diese Veränderungen auf die Struktur der Stadtlandschaft auswirken. Das inspiriert ihn dazu, Parallelen zu Prinzipien des Neuen Realismus und der Psychogeografie des Situationismus zu ziehen.

Bereits mit dreizehn Jahren beginnt er seine „Tags“ und „Stencils“ in Straßen und auf Zügen zu hinterlassen. Später studiert er an der Byam Shaw School of Art in London und entwickelt dort seinen einzigartigen Stil: Er entfernt die oberen Schichten von Wänden mit unkonventionellen Werkzeugen und kreiert dadurch Portraits der besonderen Art. 

Wie arbeitet Vhils?

Vhils befasst sich mit den Auswirkungen der globalen Entwicklung und Homogenisierung auf Landschaften und Identitäten. Ganz nach seinem Motto: Zerstören, um etwas Neues zu kreieren, erschafft er kraftvolle und poetische Bilder, die den öffentlichen Raum vermenschlichen sollen.

Häufig verwendet er Werkzeuge wie Bohrmaschine oder Sprengstoff, um die Wandschichten und den Mauerputz besser abtragen zu können. Durch das Entfernen der oberen Wandschichten verleiht er seinen Portraits eine haptische Wirkung. Ähnlich einem modernen Archäologen, möchte der Künstler jede einzelne Schicht und Etappe der Stadtgeschichte, sowie ihren Einfluss auf die Bewohner*innen darstellen und freilegen. Ein weiteres Ziel seiner Arbeit ist es, die Zerstörung und den Verfall der städtischen Umgebung widerzuspiegeln, die auf natürliche Weise verursacht wird. 

Fartos besondere Arbeitstechnik bildet die Grundlage für sein „Scratching the Surface“-Projekt. Dieses wurde erstmals auf der VSP Group Exhibition in Lissabon 2007 präsentiert, im folgenden Jahr dann beim Cans Festival in London.

Von den Favelas in Rio bis zum Centre Pompidou

Seit 2005 präsentiert Vhils seine Arbeiten weltweit auf Ausstellungen, Veranstaltungen und in anderen Kontexten – von Projekten mit Gemeinden in den Favelas von Rio de Janeiro bis hin zur Zusammenarbeit mit renommierten Institutionen wie dem Centre Pompidou oder dem Museum für Zeitgenössische Kunst San Diego. 

Vhils experimentiert neben seiner einzigartigen Abtragetechnik mit einer Vielzahl verschiedener Medien. Neben Video-Installationen produzierte er auch verschiedene Musikvideos und Kurzfilme.

Vhils in der „25“-Ausstellung in München

Im MUCA sind in der aktuellen Ausstellung von Vhils „Dwindle Series No 3“ sowie „Acumen Series No 2“ zu sehen. Vhils hat hierzu ganz verschiedene Materialien verwendet und mit den unterschiedlichsten Arbeitsweisen gearbeitet. 

Erleben Sie die Werke auf Metallplatte und aus Werbeplakaten bei uns. Hier können Sie ein Eintrittsticket buchen.

de_DE_formal